Ah, Holidays

December 25, 2010 § Leave a comment

I’ve been out of school for about a week now, and the combination of rest, relaxation, and family is absolutely refreshing. As I sit here with some festive nail polish drying on my nails, with snow coating the hills and fir trees like a cozy blanket, I can’t help but think back to that last hectic week of finals and the upcoming semester. Finals serve students well: it’s the last rush before home, the final peg in pinning down grades for classes, and goodbyes to friends and roommates. After it’s all over, though, there’s only relaxation, the holidays, and some homework-free time ahead. No one I know is complaining about that!

I’ve just had my first taste of next semester a bit early–my credit card is still warm from ordering my textbooks. In fact, it’s hot: even with renting all of my textbooks and being used when renting wasn’t an option, the grand total still came out to just over $200. I don’t want to rant about textbook costs, but it still makes me cringe to see an enormous amount of money spent on textbooks when enough of my family’s money is going towards tuition, room and board, and the general cost of getting to school from out-of-state, etc. When is enough, enough?

Well, I’ll leave you all with that. Happy holidays, and I’ll see you in the new year. Next semester should prove to be interesting, as my classes are: Foundations of Neuroscience, Special Topics in Writing: Long Fiction, Feminist Concepts and Strategies in Media Studies and Studio Art, and I was honored to be selected as a Scripps College Humanities Junior Fellow for Spring 2011: The Future of Higher Education: Gender, Geography and the Humanities.

Better start resting up now! Till then…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ah, Holidays at College, writing, media, and musings: a journey..

meta

